Vampire Diaries The Salvation: Unseen – L.J. Smith

Vampire diaries unseen

“They will never be safe…

Now that the lethal properties of Elena’s blood have been discovered, Stefan has been risking it all to destroy the almighty Old Ones.

But when Elena is almost killed in a car accident – one that was very clearly not an accident at all – she realises that the most deadly Old One is determined to take her down. 

And he just might be powerful enough to do it…”

Firstly I’d like to thank Hachette for sending me this book to read and give an honest review.  I have read and enjoyed all of the previous Vampire Diaries books (even when the ghostwriters took over) so I couldn’t wait to get started on this one.

This is a great series and I love everything about it – the vampires, the danger, the romance/love triangle etc.  In the last book I discovered that Elena was a Guardian and she also became connected/linked to Damon (thanks to the other Guardians), he then left because Elena chose Stefan!  But that isn’t the end of it…

This book picks up the story four years later and began with an email from Elena to Damon – she was warning him of an unknown danger that she felt was coming his way.  It was clear from the email that she missed him even though she was able to feel his emotions because of their newfound connection.  This connection between them was one of my favourite parts of the book because I loved seeing how each of them reacted to the others emotions.

A near fatal car accident involving Elena introduced Jack to the story and he intrigued me immensely, I came up with all sorts of ideas as to who he might be but it turned out that none of them were correct and the truth was even more exciting!

The characters have all grown so much throughout the series and they continued to do so in this book, I particularly enjoyed Bonnie’s witchy trip where she learned more about magic and how to use it.  There were all the usual elements of the story that I love so much (danger, fighting scenes, old vampires) with some added extras (strange new vampires, a couple of very unexpected deaths and a shocking twist at the end that I hadn’t seen coming).  I just couldn’t put the book down and ended up reading it in one day, I’m really looking forward to the next instalment!

This was another great read from this series, I was enclosed in a little Vampire Diaries bubble from start to finish.

Vampire Diaries The Salvation: Unseen was published by Hodder Children’s Books on 2 May 2013 and can be purchased from The Book DepositoryAmazon or from most good book retailers.

11 comments

    1. Hi Veronica, Damon and Bonnie weren’t together in this book but Bonnie did get a nice surprise from him for her birthday! Throughout the series there have always been hints that they might become more than friends so its possible that it might happen in the future – I’d like to see that too :)

      Thank you for stopping by!

  1. i am excited to learn that there is a new trilogy to continue to read. i love the entire series, even when the ghostwriter took over as well. From my research when i finished the last book, that was what i knew then as the final book. So i am intrigrued and delighted that there is one and a good review :)

    1. I have a Kindle and it’s definitely available on there so I’m not too sure why it isn’t on the nook, sorry! I hope you can get it soon, thank you for stopping by :)

  2. Do you know why there are different covers for the book? For a long time it wasn’t available at Barnes and Noble and Walmart and when it was it had a different cover.

    1. I’m afraid I’m not entirely sure. I know they usually have different covers for different countries though – I’m in the UK so this cover would probably differ from the US version etc.

Please Leave a Comment

