The Witch of Turlingham Academy – Ellie Boswell

“It’s not easy being the only day girl at Turlingham Academy: Sophie misses out on all the midnight feasts and late-night gossip.  And when new girl Katy turns up, it feels like she’s bewitching all of Sophie’s friends!

Katy’s no witch, but there is a witch at Turlingham.  Katy comes from a long line of witch hunters whose job is to stop evil magic.  Sophie is going to help her – anything to get Katy out of her life and get things back to normal.

But what she discovers means nothing will ever be normal again!” 

I was lucky enough to win this book from a giveaway run by Bliss Magazine.

I have to admit that I wasn’t entirely sure about this book before I read it, being children’s fiction I was worried it might just be too child-like for me but I actually very much enjoyed this quick, fun read!

Sophie’s mum is the headmistress of Turlingham Academy and whilst in her mum’s office Sophie discovered something hidden in her one of her drawers, something that led to all sorts of trouble and changes for her.  The first indicator that something had changed was when Sophie and her friends were messing about in an old lighthouse, they got a bit of a shock when their pretend magic actually worked!

The two new mysterious students, Katy and Ashton, were interesting and although I knew what they were, it was fun to see what they would get up to.  Towards the end things got really tense for Sophie as the their true colours shone through, leaving Sophie fearing for her life.  Sometimes, however, people can surprise you in a good way…

This book has a young and fresh feel to it, I enjoyed the typical teenage girl talk (boys, school etc.) and the magic that was thrown into the mix made it even more interesting.  It was well written and easy to read, I would definitely recommend it for children, teenagers and fans of witchy books in general.

There is a second book which has already been released, Undercover Magic, and a third which is due to be released in September called Secrets and Sorcery.

The Witch of Turlingham Academy can be purchased here with free worldwide delivery.

2 comments

  1. Aww, I’m glad you enjoyed this! I loved this when I read it for review quite a while ago. I think the characters and the storyline are so sweet. I just got my hands on a copy of Secrets and Sorcery which I hope to start soon. Thanks for a great review!

Please Leave a Comment

